Review: Sea Treats

So the lovely people at Tower Pet Products sent me over some natural fish treats for Hendrix to try out. As I had explained to them, Hendrix has quite a sensitive tummy so can react badly to certain ingredients. I was told that fish is good for sensitive tummies (which I had read somewhere before) so I should try them out.

sea treatsHendrix got very excited when the parcel arrived, I think he must have known it was for him! When I opened it (and finished chasing Hendrix around the garden to get the packaging back) I found 2 tubs of treats, Whitefish Jerky Small Crunchies and Whitefish and Seaweed Fishies. Now one of the tubs had split in transit and the first thing I notice when opening the parcel was the smell. Now I’m originally from Hull so I’m used to the smell of fresh fish but some people might find it a bit overwhelming. I must say my mum wasn’t overly impressed! The way I look at it, they smell that way because they are made with real fish, not just flavouring. Tower Pet Products are based in Grimsby which is known for its fishing industries, so you know it is made with the freshest fish.

Hendrix was not put off by the smell at all, he loved it! First off we tried the Whitefish Crunchies. Now they come in quite big cubes, which could be a bit big for small dogs, but were perfect size for a hungry husky. I didn’t get much of a chance to photograph him enjoying his treat as he ran off outside with it, all I could hear was him crunching away on it. So true to their name they are very crunchie! Not long later Hendrix was back and sitting in front of me pulling his cutest ‘can I have another one?’ face. I was given a paw and everything, how could I resist?!  His eagerness for another one told me that he was a big fan.

sea treats2

We tried the Whitefish and Seaweed Fishies next. These ones took him a little longer to crunch his way through. Again though he seemed to really enjoy it, returning immediately to see if he could get his paws on another one!

The crunch of these treats are a good indicator of how fresh they are. The plastic pots are perfect for maintaining freshness (and containing the smell).

Fish and fish oils are great for providing Omega 3 fatty acids (which is something our pooches do not have naturally in their cells) which support heart health, vision, joint care, skin and coat as well as supporting a healthy and balanced immune system.

The list of health benefits listed on their website is quite impressive. These include:

  • low in fat
  • good for dogs with sensitive tummies
  • hypo allergenic and grain free
  • improves bad breath
  • removes tartar build up
  • supports cognitive function
  • high in iron, calcium and vitamin B6
  • essential minerals for good health
  • healthy skin and coat
  • joint mobility

With a list like that it makes me want to treat my dog more often!

Compared to other treats these could be seen to be on the expensive side. However when you consider the ingredients (fish isn’t cheap) and the health benefits then that to me outweighs the cost. For the tubs I received you are looking at a cost of £7.99 or you can mix and match 4 for £15. In my opinion you would be silly not to take advantage of that offer.

Overall I would give both treats 4.5 out of 5. Hendrix would probably give them the full 5 yet I am only knocking off half a point for the fishy dog kisses I had to endure for a while after he had eaten them. That and I could still smell it on my hands.

We would certainly recommend these products, thank you for letting us try them and we will be putting in an order for some more soon.

Emma & Hendrix

 

sea treats 3

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jim says:

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or tips.
    Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

Leave a Reply

